Due to COVID restrictions, the UKLA team is working from home. This is a challenging time for us all, so your patience is very much appreciated.

National Council


Cathy Burnett: President

Roger McDonald: President Elect

Tracy Parvin: Immediate Past President

Debra Myhill: Vice President

Doreen Challen: Hon. Treasurer

Gabrielle Cliff Hodges: Hon. Secretary

Jill McClay: Publications

Jo Tregenza: Publications and Region 13 Rep

Liz Broad: International

Janet Douglas Gardner: Conferences

Clare Dowdall: Research

Kat Valley: Regional Rep Coordinator

Lynda Graham: Publicity & Communications

Chris Lockwood: Ass. Secretary  & Awards  

Co-Opted EC:

Teresa Cremin: HEI and English in Initial Teacher Education SIG

Joy Court: Libraries

David Reedy: Campaigns

Alayne Ӧztürk: Diversity

Henrietta Dombey: FELA

Eve Bearne: Associate editor


Regional Representatives:

Richard Charlesworth: London

Julia Sutherland: South

Jo Tregenda:  South

Jamie Evans:  South East

Kat Valley: South East

Rebecca Austin: South East

Cheryl Parkinson: East

John-Mark Winstanley: East

Claire Williams: East

Anita Wood: South West

Kirsty Jones: South West

Dan Northover: South West

Emma Rogers: East Midlands

Gemma Gibson: East Midlands

Petula Bhojwani: East Midlands

Simon Fisher: Wales

Jo Bowers: Wales

Sue Reid: West Midlands

Rachel Clarke: West Midlands

Nikki Gamble: Yorkshire

Kelly Ashley: Yorkshire

Rebecca Simpson Hargreaves: North West

Rebecca Hurst: North West

Donna Hazard: Northern Ireland

Alice Atkinson: Scotland

Karla Pearce: Scotland


Co-Opted NC:

Nikki Gamble: SIG Children’ Literature rep.

Emma Dwyer: LA Rep.

Prue Goodwin: Reading Rep.

Sophie Tatum: Early Career Teachers Rep.

Marion Hampton: Teacher  Rep Secondary.

Daisy Rothwell: Teacher Rep. Primary

Sally Wilkinson: English 4-11 Rep.

Jon Biddle: Teachers’ Research Group Rep

Sonia Thompson: Teachers’ Research Group Rep

Felicity Ferguson: Writing Rocks Rep

Ross Young: Writing Rocks Rep

Anne Swift: Teacher Associations Rep

Fiona Maine

Liz Chamberlain

Candice Satchwell

©2021 United Kingdom Literacy Association, All rights reserved

Made with by Bellamy Studio

Login to your UKLA account

Signup Here
Lost Password