The UKLA office is currently working remotely due to COVID-19. If you have any enquiry, please contact us

The Brenda Eastwood Award

The Brenda Eastwood Award for good practice in teaching for diversity and inclusion

Our new award for good practice in teaching for diversity and inclusion, is in memory of a much loved friend and colleague. The Brenda Eastwood award invites UKLA members to nominate  schools, Early Years practitioners, teachers, HE tutors, consultants, librarians or publishers who have shown good practice in empowering children to respect and appreciate diversity in terms of:

  • gender
  • ethnicity
  • religion
  • disability
  • socioeconomic status
  • national origin or
  • age.

Panel Chair: Janet Douglas Gardner, London Metropolitan University.

On-line submissions are invited from 7 January 2020. Deadline Monday 4 May 2020.

Please read the detailed criteria carefully. 

For a taste of what we're looking for, take a look at the 2018 winning entry, from Rowena Seabrook of Amnesty International (download on the right of this page).