Due to COVID restrictions, the UKLA team is working from home. This is a challenging time for us all, so your patience is very much appreciated.

2018 Academic Book Award Winner Announced!

UKLA is delighted to announce that the winner of the 2018 Academic Book Award is...


UKLA is delighted to announce that the winner of the 2018 Academic Book Award is:

Storytelling in Early Childhood, edited by Teresa Cremin, Rosie Flewitt, Ben Mardell & Joan Swann (Routledge)

Panel chair, Morag Styles writes: ‘There were big smiles all round the judging table when discussion began on this engaging and stimulating book. Its inspiration comes from the pioneering work of Vivian Paley on the significance of storytelling and imaginative play in the early childhood. Despite multiple editors and contributors from different universities in UK and USA, Storytelling offers a persuasive and coherent argument that challenges the narrowness of the current curriculum and provides stirring examples from different disciplines of what can be achieved in the creative child-centred classroom. It makes a distinctive contribution to literacy education, inspiring the teaching of literacy and encouraging teachers to be reflective, innovative and creative.’

Panel: Morag Styles (chair)

Helen Bradford
Sarah Brownsword
Fiona Evans
Lynda Graham
Penny Manford
Roger McDonald
Elizabeth Robertson
Rebecca Simpson-Hargreaves
Sara Stanley

©2021 United Kingdom Literacy Association, All rights reserved

Made with by Bellamy Studio

Login to your UKLA account

Signup Here
Lost Password