The UKLA office is currently working remotely due to COVID-19. If you have any enquiry, please contact us

Shortlist announced: Brenda Eastwood Award for good practice in teaching for diversity and inclusion


UKLA is delighted to announce the shortlist for the Brenda Eastwood Award in memory of a much loved friend and colleague. In its second year, The Brenda Eastwood Award for good practice in teaching for diversity and inclusion invites UKLA members to nominate schools, Early Years practitioners, teachers, HE Tutors, consultants or librarians who have shown good practice in empowering children to respect and appreciate diversity in terms of gender, ethnicity, religion, disability, LGBTQ, socioeconomic status, national origin or age.

The shortlisted nominees for 2019 are:

  • Dr. Christine Callender, Lecturer in Teacher Education and Senior Fellow Higher Education Academy , UCL Institute of Education Learning and Leadership, England
  • Dr Sabine Little, Lecturer in Education studies (Language Education) and Senior Fellow Higher Education Academy, The University of Sheffield, England
  • Ruth Morgan, Additional Learning Needs Coordinator, Cogan Primary School in the Vale of Glamorgan, Wales
  • Farrah Serroukh, Regional Learning Programme Leader, Centre for Literacy in Primary Education
  • Dr. Erin Spring, Assistant Professor, The Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary, Canada

Janet Douglas Gardner Chair of judges, writes:

The Brenda Eastwood Award continues to attract high quality nominations of educators, practitioners, librarians, consultants and researchers actively involved in inclusion and diversity.

The panel of judges was challenged in deciding the winners for this prestigious award. Each nominee in the shortlist demonstrated commitment and impact of inclusion and diversity in practice. This was reflected in learning and teaching in the classroom, partnerships established between libraries, schools and higher education institutions, community involvement, publication and research. Multilingualism, literacy development, representation of Black and Minority Ethnic characters in books, race, culture, disability and gender were some of the aspects addressed in the work of the shortlisted candidates. An expression of gratitude to all nominators.

The panel had an excellent balance of practitioners, researchers and educators whose combined experience of the inclusive curriculum provided in-depth discussions and deliberations with nominations submitted.

The winners will be announced at the awards wine reception and dinner on Saturday July 13th during the International Conference in Sheffield, and a number of the shortlisted nominees will present their work at a seminar on the Sunday morning of the conference.

Panel: Janet Douglas Gardner (chair), Jane Bednall, Liz Chamberlain, Lynda Graham, Lorraine Hunt, Roger McDonald, Shaheen Sparekh, Cheryl Parkinson and Arun Sharma. 

News Archives