UKLA announces the shortlist for the new Brenda Eastwood Award

UKLA is delighted to announce the shortlist for our new award in memory of a much loved friend and colleague.


UKLA is delighted to announce the shortlist for our new award in memory of a much loved friend and colleague. The new Brenda Eastwood Award for good practice in teaching for diversity and inclusion invites UKLA members to nominate schools, Early Years practitioners, teachers, HE Tutors, consultants or librarians who have shown good practice in empowering children to respect and appreciate diversity.

The shortlisted nominees are:

  • Stacey Barnes, Assistant Headteacher, Ranvilles Infant School Hampshire
  • Becky Lawrence, Deputy Headteacher, Hill Mead Primary School, Brixton
  • Bridie Mahon & Sophie Donovan, teachers, Britannia Village Primary School, Newham
  • Rowena Seabrook, Human Rights Education Manager, Amnesty International UK
  • Rebecca Thomson, teacher, Bannerman Road Primary School, Bristol
  • Sheringham Nursery School and Children’s Centre

Janet Douglas Gardner chair of judges, writes: I express my gratitude to all the participants for this new UKLA award.

The nominators and nominees demonstrated their knowledge, understanding and engagement with inclusion and diversity at local, national and international levels.

The panel had an excellent balance of practitioners, researchers and educators whose combined experience of the inclusive curriculum allowed for an informed discussion and analysis of the submissions received.

The nominators and nominees were clear of the criteria of the award and there was evidence of pedagogy and innovative practice.

The members of the panel agreed that for this introductory year, there will be six shortlisted nominees for the award. Submissions were received for teaching and learning in the early years, primary and secondary education and beyond. Diversity and inclusion of teaching and learning was embedded in practice within early years, primary and secondary classrooms and beyond. This spanned from the urban to suburban with examples from nursery schools to international perspectives. The impact of the chosen nominations reflect how children access and engage with the curriculum in established and innovative ways.

The commitment of inclusive practice through books, drama, speaking and listening, empathy and lived experience is reflected in the nominations for the Brenda Eastwood Award 2018. This reminds us all that diversity and inclusion enrich lives.

The winner will be announced at the awards wine reception on Saturday 7 July during the International Conference in Cardiff, and a number of the shortlisted nominees will present their work at a seminar on the Sunday morning of the conference.

Panel: Janet Douglas Gardner (chair), Lynda Graham, Lorraine Hunt, Chris Lockwood, Cheryl Parkinson, Roger McDonald, Anne Swift.

The Brenda Eastwood Award

Subscribe to our Newsletter