Due to COVID restrictions, the UKLA team is working from home. This is a challenging time for us all, so your patience is very much appreciated.

The Brenda Eastwood Award

The Brenda Eastwood Award for good practice in teaching for diversity and inclusion.


Our new award for good practice in teaching for diversity and inclusion, is in memory of a much loved friend and colleague. The Brenda Eastwood award invites UKLA members to nominate  schools, Early Years practitioners, teachers, HE tutors, consultants, librarians or publishers who have shown good practice in empowering children to respect and appreciate diversity in terms of:

  • gender
  • ethnicity
  • religion
  • disability
  • socioeconomic status
  • national origin or
  • age.

Panel Chair: Janet Douglas Gardner, London Metropolitan University.

Detailed criteria for this award can be found on the top right hand of this page.

For a taste of what we’re looking for, take a look at the 2018 winning entry, from Rowena Seabrook of Amnesty International (download on the right of this page).

Login to your UKLA account

Signup Here
Lost Password